Social Fasting

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Helpful Websites

Lately I have been pretty much of a recluse. I haven’t really answered my phone.  I do check  this  Blog, and  I check my emails. It is important to have met your obligations through this process at least minimally when consciously undertaking this personal task.  But  I  haven’t been “out much” lately! What is  ODD is some of the reactions I have gotten. People scared, people concerned, people wondering if I am going to “snap out of it”. All kinds of stuff. But I rather have people support me and “let me be” sometimes so that I can regroup. Some people are supportive.  They have become part of the meditation. These are those who understand the art of  “going to your room.”  And if they don’t understand its purpose, they try or at least wonder gracefully! Do you ever just feel like “going to your room” for maybe a day, or several hours? What do you get?

ARE YOU OKAY IN THERE?!?!?

WHEN ARE YOU COMING OUT????

SO AND SO WANTS  TO TALK TO YOU!

YOU ARE BEING A SNOB!

OPEN UP NOW! THIS ISN’T GOOD FOR YOU!

I DON’T CARE IF THE SIGN IS ON YOUR DOOR!

I  often wonder how hard  Einstein, Beethoven, or any Master really had to fight for their free time? Jesus Christ had to go all the way to the back side of the desert for forty days to regain strength in His body, mind and Spirit!  THAT is why people take a vacation! If you have money and the means to leave,  or are a great Master, you are excused. But stay in your room for over five days, or even five hours,  and you begin to hit pay dirt. You realize just how to “organize your circle”  ( relationships) by the reactions! For some of you, that might be a good experiment. Just let people know what you are doing  first because if you don’t, you can’t blame them for worrying, good friends would.

Yes, it goes from curious all the way to furious. It is then that you know who really “gets” you. By the reactions you get, you know who trusts you most and has faith in you. (Mind you, you have disclosed the situation to them).  And you know who honors your space, time and boundaries. The rest of the world just gets a bit of a “separation anxiety.”  Even when I have told a few who call regularly to “Please I can’t do that or this right now, I have reached my wall…” either they didn’t hear me, or their needs were greater. Now don’t categorize yourself if you are my friend reading this! This time around, I have felt honored. (And I will be just great by next week!)

This “Social Fast” can be  interesting. And it has been healing to get away and talk to God and seek direction for this part of my life. Ya know, some people just need to chillax alone for a few. It will be your friends who will take you back when it is all said and done. And you will be a better person for it. Your true friends will reap the benefits of your social  fast!

Fortunately, I still have friends.  And I am regaining my peace of mind. Some of us are just built for more respite from this world than others. But we make for great friends. Just be patient with us, God and ourselves aren’t finished with us yet! Maybe something greater will come out of it for everyone! Shalom my friends 

Julie

PS: Comment for a chance to win the 25.00 Amazon gift card giveaway October 2!

Comments
  1. Arletha says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  2. Thank you for enjoying my blog! I am so pleased someone stumbled upon it and enjoyed it!Thank you so much for your encouraging comment Arletha! And thank you for subscribing! You now have a chance to win the Amazon gift card as well! Please come back and visit often! What type of newsletter might you be looking for? What type of content would interest you? Julie

  3. Imelda says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for posting .

    • Imelda; Thank you for your kind comment on Social Fasting! I am slowly “breaking” my fast, and I must admit, it has done me a world of good for taking the time to social fast! Please come back to my blog anytime! I have a new area on my blog “Julie’s short story” fresh from my press each Wednesday… and daily music uploads along with a healthy recipe section! It is just going to get better and I want you to be a part of it! sorry for hte late reply as WordPress put all my mail in Spam! I am learning the ropes, so thanks for hanging in there with me! Watch as I improve my blog! I hope it blesses you! Take care, Julie

  4. This video says:

    Only a smiling visitant here to share the really like (:, btw wonderful style and style .

Leave a Reply

